Physics Home | College of Science | Physics Links | Contact us

                           Department of Physics





Prof. Noel Buckley
Dr. Zakia Rahman
Dr. Arousian Arshak



Professional Societies



Solid State Physics

Thin & Thick Film Technology


CAD Development

Past Research Projects :

- Dry Etching of Silicon containing Polymers (photoresists) in conjunction Philips Research Labs., Eindhoven (PRLE) for application in submicron photolithography.

- Development of an optical lithography, liquid phase silylation and dry development process for device isolation in an SOI CMOS process for Analog Devices B.V., Limerick.


Current Research Projects:


- Development of the coupled Image Reversal and DESIRE process to achieve a positve system for sub-half micron lithography.

- Modelling of the silylation process using finite element analysis. 

- Development of a Phase Shift Mask (PSM) for optical lithography using the silylation process.


Research Supervision

[1] J.J. Kinsella  - "Modelling and simulation of silylation using finite element analysis",  M.Eng. Thesis, transfered to PhD to be submitted December, 2002. Fully sponsored by Intel Ireland Ltd.

[2] J. Schinagl - "Fabrication of a Phase Shift Mask using the silylation process", M.Eng.    Thesis, submitted August, 1998. The research was fully sponsored by Intel Ireland Ltd.

[3] Saleh M. Zleetni - "Electrical and optical studies on radiation damage of RE : Phthalocyanine thin and thick films". Master in science Thises, to be submitted August, 2002, or transfer to Ph.D.

[4] Miroslav Mihov - "Design of 40 nm lines/spaces in 1 micron Shipley SPR510A resist", Master to be transfer to PhD. Fully sponsored by Intel Ireland Ltd. Thises, to be submitted September, 2002. Co-supervisor.

[5] Deirdre Beegan - "Control of adhesion, stress, microstructure and resistivity of Cu thin films deposited by IBAD on Si". M. Sc. in Physics Thesis, to be submitted September 2002. Co-supervisor.

[6] Eric Dalton - "Microscopic Earthquakes: fundamental causes of abrupt resistance changes in electromigration". M. Sc. in Physics Thesis, to be submitted September 2002. Co-supervisor.


Links to some semiconductor manufacturing companies:

Intel Ltd.       Analog Devices, Inc.

Dr. Vincent Casey
Dr. George McClelland
Dr. David Corcoran
Dr. Michael Laugier 
Dr. Martin Leahy


Last modified 29 July 2001 

Copyright 2001 Department of Physics. All rights reserved.